Events: Canada’s Tim Tremblay takes top spot at Pontiac Silverdome’s Pro Open main of AMSOIL Snocross

Kimster Events

Tremblay (Ski-Doo) holds off a wild charge from Tucker Hibbert (Arctic Cat) to win a thrilling Silverdome Pro Open main event; Derek Ellis’ tops in Pro Lights

For more information contact:
Pat Schutte, PR Director, ISOC Racing

PONTIAC, Mich. – (Feb. 10, 2012) – The largest crowd of the 2011-’12 AMSOIL Championship Snocross Series season gathered indoors at the stately Pontiac (Mich.) Silverdome for round seven of the series – the Western Power Sports Michigan Snocross National, presented by Tim Hortons. Securing the premier class Pro Open win in front of an estimated crowd approaching 20,000 snowmobile racing fans was Canada’s Tim Tremblay (Ski-Doo).

In the support Pro Light division racing North Dakota’s Derek Ellis (Ski-Doo) took top honors with a thrilling win over Polaris’ Kody Kamm.

Pro Open

After Ski-Doo’s Justin Broberg pulled the Stud Boy Holeshot, the Pro Open turned into a classic cat-and-mouse chase between Tucker Hibbert (Arctic Cat) and Tremblay. Hibbert would work his way back up the charts after getting caught up at the start, clicking off fast lap after fast lap before catching up to race leader Tremblay by lap 11 (of 28).

Whittling Tremblay’s lead down to three seconds – much because Tremblay ran into lapped traffic on the tight, 20-second lap, all-left-hand-turn course. A Tremblay mistake in the first turn after the finish line would put Hibbert into the lead momentarily, but Tremblay grabbed it right back. Hibbert would lead once more before Tremblay charged back to the front. Then, on lap 22, Hibbert got into the back of Tremblay’s sled and tipped over – dashing his chances for the win. Hibbert would re-mount and charge back towards the podium, but fellow Arctic Cat pilot Logan Christian would shut the door on Hibbert’s attempts at 2nd place.

The final Pro Open podium at the Silverdome read: 1st – Tremblay; 2nd – Christian; 3rd – Hibbert

“This was such a good night, I’m really happy to be up here,” said Tremblay. “It was really hard to pass those guys (lapped traffic). Almost crashed once, but my Ski-Doo team worked very hard we won the race and I’m very happy for it.”

Added Hibbert: “Pretty rough at the end there, but pretty exciting.”

Pro Light

In Friday’s Pro Light final at the Silverdome Polaris’ Kody Kamm looked to have ‘er in the bag, taking a multiple-second lead into the white flag lap – before a mechanical gremlin stopped Kamm’s sled mid-lap in last of the 16 lap main event. Ironically, Ski-Doo’s Derek Ellis’ sled seemed to be belching smoke for the entire main, but Ellis soldiered on – never losing much time on Kamm – and was there in second place when Kamm’s sled quit to take the win.

“Wow. That was a wild race,” said Ellis, the sizable Silverdome crowd cheering him on. “My Ski-Doo was there in the end. Pumped with the win.”

Wrapping up the Pro Light podium at the Silverdome was John Stenberg (Ski-Doo) in 2nd and Chase Rosemeyer (Ski-Doo) in 3rd.

Western Powersports Michigan National Pro Open Friday results

1 11 SKD Tim Tremblay Ste Jeanne D’arc,
2 43 ATC Logan Christian Fertile, MN
3 68 ATC Tucker Hibbert Pelican Rapids, MN
4 168 SKD Justin Broberg Waukesha, WI
5 4 SKD Robbie Malinoski Lino Lakes, MN
6 837 PLS Ross Martin Burlington, WI
7 170 SKD Darrin Mees Long Island, NY
8 27 SKD Emil Ohman Pitea,
9 160 ATC Cory Davis Soldotna, AK
10 99 SKD Zach Pattyn Ravenna, MI
11 324 ATC Kyle Pallin Ironwood, MI
12 52 PLS Johan Lidman Pitea,
13 48 ATC Garth Kaufman Driggs, ID
14 19 PLS Brett Bender Colden, NY
15 14 SKD Mathieu Morin Val Dor,

Pro Open overall points (after seven rounds)

1. 837 Ross Martin 271 1
2. 11 Tim Tremblay 259 1
3. 68 Tucker Hibbert 257 1
4. 4 Robbie Malinoski 248 1
5. 170 Darrin Mees 218 1
6. 44 Tj Gulla 170 1
7. 168 Justin Broberg 166 1
8. 48 Garth Kaufman 162 1
9. 717 Mike Bauer 157 1
10. 160 Cory Davis 154 1

Western Powersports Michigan National Pro Light Friday results

1 106 SKD Derek Ellis West Fargo, ND
2 259 SKD John Stenberg Lofsdalen,
3 675 SKD Chase Rosemeyer Chippewa Falls, WI
4 248 PLS Brett Nastala Milton, WI
5 999 PLS Colby Crapo St.anthony, ID
6 436 SKD Travis Muller Windom, MN
7 857 PLS Andrew Lieders Colby, WI
8 154 PLS James Johnstad Beltrami, MN
9 630 SKD Casey Boylan Anchorage, AK
10 42 PLS Jake Scott Port Jefferson, NY
11 427 PLS Joe Fallen White Bear Lake, MN
12 221 PLS Brian Ludwig Freedom, WI
13 173 SKD Corey Watkinson Port Carling,
14 553 PLS Kody Kamm Kenosha, WI
15 137 ATC Devin Bertoch Baxter, MN

Pro Light overall results (after seven rounds)

1. 553 Kody Kamm 258 1
2. 106 Derek Ellis 245 1
3. 154 James Johnstad 205 1
4. 857 Andrew Lieders 191 1
5. 115 David Joanis 185 1
6. 259 John Stenberg 171 1
7. 436 Travis Muller 161 1
8. 173 Corey Watkinson 156 1
9. 42 Jake Scott 153 1
10. 271 Petter Narsa 152 1

Next up …

Who: World’s top snowmobile racers, including locals Brett Bender & TJ Gulla
What: The Vision Kia Eastern National … round 6 of the 2011-’12 AMSOIL Championship Snocross Series
When: Feb. 24-25 (rescheduled from Feb. 3-4 due to lack of snow)
Times: Practice starts each day at 8 a.m., amateur racing begins at 9:30 a.m., pros at noon.
Where: Farmington’s Finger Lakes Casino and Racetrack
Tickets: Tickets start at just $25 ($10 for kids) and are available at the gate or online at www.fingerlakessnocross and

ISOC/ACSS photos by Gary Walton

About ISOC Racing
The International Series of Champions (ISOC) is the premier snowmobile race sanctioning organization in North America and sanctions the national AMSOIL Championship Snocross Series, in addition to affiliating with nine regional circuits. Visit for more information, fan and racer memberships, schedule details and more.