mike-admin Uncategorized

SPIRIT MOUNTAIN – DULUTH, MN. (November 26, 2016) – As the sun peeks it’s head over the horizon for the new day, the teams are already getting the sleds ready for the first round of competition in the Pro ranks. Fresh sleds and fresh riders will take to the line on a challenging course that is sure to push the riders to their limits. While the PRO Open riders took to the track for yesterdays AMSOIL Dominator race, this will be the first time for the PRO Lite division for the AMSOIL Snocross National Presented by Country Cat.
After some great rounds of competition during the heat races. Jake Angove(177) is top qualifier landing two wins followed by Cole Cottew(21) and Tyler Adams(705) rounding off the top three qualifiers. Montana Jess(765) the 2015-2016 Champion having a bit of trouble in the heats, taking a first in Round 1, but finishing 7th in Round 2 put him the LCQ, Jess was able to transfer into the final with the last transfer spot.
With the Green Flag in the air and down the line, it is Travis Kern(201) with the Stud Boy Hole Shot, however up the back stretch and through the Air Force Fly Away jump, Jake Angove(177) hooks up and takes the lead into the Ski-Doo Corner followed by Kern and Aki Philaja(128) who would move up to second on lap three.
Rookie rider Nickolas Lorenz(572) challenges for second over Philaja making the pass and begins to challenge team mate Angove. Boss Racing rider Philaja working through the rhythm section makes up ground and begins to challenge for second on lap 10 with the pass after getting an inside line putting Lorenz third on the box for his first Pro ranks podium finish. Jake Angove with a healthy lead on the field takes the first PRO Lite final checkers and the clean sweep over the field followed by the rider from Finland, Aki Pihlaja. On the box Angove explains “It’s been the best day racing I ever had, there aren’t really words to describe it.”
1. Jake Angove
2. Aki Pihlaja
3. Nickolas Lorenz
4. James Johnstad
5. Marcus Ogemar Hellgren
6. Travis Kern
7. Kevin Wallenstein
8. Zak Mason
9. Max Taillefer
10. Cole Cottew
11. Montana Jess
12. Daniel Benham
13. Danny Poirier
14. Alex Berglund
15. Tyler Adams
Big upsets and surprises in the PRO Open division, where the 2015-2016 Champion Tucker Hibbert(68) finds himself in rare territory with a 4th place finish followed by a 3rd place finish putting him as the 9th qualifier. Corin Todd(36) riding for Leighton Motorsports is the story of the day taking two first place wins in the heats landing the top qualifier of the day. Returning from season ending injury last year, Kody Kamm(53) qualifies second with Tim Tremblay(11) as the third qualifier. Rookie PRO Open rider Elias Ishoel(200) has some trouble in Round 2 with a last place finish forces him to run the LCQ and transfer into the final as the 13th qualifier in his first PRO Open final.
Out of the gate like a rocket, Lincoln Lemieux(13) grabs the Stud Boy Hole Shot followed by Kyle Pallin(324) and Tucker Hibbert(68) across the AMSOIL Finish line on lap one, but it is Tim Tremblay(11) who is pushing hard on Hibbert’s bumper challenging for that 3rd spot.
Running smooth and steady, Lemieux marks off the laps in the lead as the battle continues in the back with Hibbert and Pallin battling back and forth, when Hibbert sets up for an inside pass on Pallin through the FXR Corner, he gets bucked off his sled giving Tremblay the third position and quickly is on the tail of Pallin and makes the move down the RAM front stretch.
Up front with nearly a five second lead half way through the race aboard the AMSOIL/Air Force/Rockstar sled, Lemieux dominates the race and takes the checkers to get the win for the first final of the season, teammate Tremblay makes a late charge in an attempt to challenge for the win, but finds second place on the box, Hibbert fights back hard to try and run down Tremblay for second but is unable to make up the ground in the remaining laps landing him a third place podium finish.
1. Lincoln Lemieux
2. Tim Tremblay
3. Tucker Hibbert
4. Kyle Pallin
5. Kody Kamm
6. Ross Martin
7. Petter Narsa
8. Logan Christian
9. David Joanis
10. Adam Renheim
11. Justin Broberg
12. Andrew Carlson
13. Corey Watkinson
14. Corin Todd
15. Elias Ishoel