mike-admin Uncategorized

DEADWOOD, SD- (JANUARY 20, 2017),  The fourth stop of the AMSOIL Championship Snocross Series for the US Airforce Deadwood Snocross Presented by AMG Peterbilt returns to the western region of South Dakota to the historic Days of ’76 Rodeo Grounds. A near sell out crowd filled the grand stands for some incredible racing action in both the Pro Lite and Pro Open divisions.


Rounds 5 and 6 certainly changed the game with 7 different teams finding their way to the podium in Canterbury. Tim Tremblay(11) moved into first with the points lead and rookie rider Elias Ishoel(200) found his first Pro Open win. As the season continues to unfold, it is shaping up to be a season ending nail bitter.

MIR_7142 7X3

The small bull ring track is quick and short, but very challenging for the riders,  current points leader Aki Pihlaja(128) struggled in the first round of heats where he went over the handle bars and finished with a 6th place finish, but came back in the second heat with a win. 2016 Champion, Montana Jess(765) has had some bad luck this season, but was able to grab a win in the heats. Zak Mason(63) racing for Team LaVallee, found his rhythm and landed a first place and a second place finish in the heats giving him the number one qualifier for the night.
MIR_9996 7X3
Pro Lite final on the line, with and inside line and first to the Stud Boy Holeshot is Zak Mason, this kid is on fire today and off to a great start in the final. Big crash in the first turn, four riders off their sleds, but all able to continue. Lap one and over the AMSOIL finish line Kevin Wallenstein(122) overtakes Zak Mason(63) for the lead, Mason fights back, bar-to-bar through the FXR Turn, Zak with the inside line is able to move back into first.
Points leader Aki Pihlaja(128) back in the fourth is working to run down the leaders and find a spot on the podium while Jake Angove(177) has slid back to fifth.  Jacob Yurk(727) with a strong start running in third is able to hold off Pihlaja for a few laps, but the points leader makes his move into third, but Jake Angove(177) challenges Pihlaja and moves into third for a moment, but Pihlaja is able to take back third.
Up front, Mason has checked out from the field, but Kevin Wallenstein(122) is running an incredible race and sitting comfortably in that second podium spot. Rookie rider Nicolas Lorenz(572) riding for Judnick Motorsports also racing hard to overcome team mate Jake Angove but is unable to make the pass and finishes 5th, with Angove one spot off the box with a fourth place finish. Zak Mason(63) remained unchallenged and took the checkers followed Wallenstein and Pihlaja held on to the final podium spot.
Coming off his first win of the season Kody Kamm(53) firing on all cylinders walked away with two wins in the heat races which landed him the top qualifier of the night. Ross Martin(837) is putting together a great season, knocked off two third places finishes in the heats while Tucker Hibbert(68) landed two top three finishes. Kyle Pallin(324) was tossed off the sled in Heat two forcing him to the LCQ, but transferred into the main with a second place finish. Lincoln Lemieux(13) also with a rough night, had to run the LCQ but grabbed a transfer spot up to the main as well. Petter Narsa(54) locked in the 2nd qualifier for the night.
MIR_9838 7X3
The riders will be challenged to 24 laps of hard core racing on the bull ring. On the line for the final, number one qualifier Kody Kamm(53) is hoping to take the hat trick for the night and a clean sweep, while Tucker Hibbert(68) is looking for his 125th win of his career. Ross “The Boss” Martin turns it on and out of the gate to grab the Stud Boy Holeshot, but Ryan Springer(541) the 8th qualifier is on the tail of Martin and takes the lead through the Polaris corner. As they cross the AMSOIL finish line jump, five sleds are battling, Springer, Martin, Ishoel, Tremblay and Logan Christian. Out of the FXR Turn, Springer continues to hold on to the lead, but Tim Tremblay(11) finds trouble in the Polaris corner and is off his sled.
Tucker Hibbert(68) has some work to do sitting mid-pack, but has plenty of time to reel in the leaders. Springer still up front, while Logan Christian(43) makes the move on Ross Martin(837) for second. Out of no where Corin Todd(36) comes up through the field and passes Christian along with Elias Ishoel(200) who is trying to move into a podium spot. Ishoel and Logan Christian both would later have mechanical issues putting them out of contention.
Top qualifier Kody Kamm(53) is putting together a solid run and finds himself within striking distance of a podium finish mid-way through the race. Up front, Martin is putting the pressure on Springer for the lead. With only four laps to go, Martin finds the line to make the move and take over the lead from Springer followed by Kamm who is also able to put Springer back one more spot.
Up from tenth place with two laps to go, Tucker Hibbert(68) is making a hard run for the final podium spot as he drag races Springer down the final stretch towards the AMSOIL finish line, but comes up short with a fourth place finish. Checkers in the air it is Ross Martin(837) in first, Kody Kamm(53) in second and Ryan Springer(541) in third.