Kody Kamm Carries Momentum Into AMSOIL Dominator

Matt Skubic Uncategorized

The AMSOIL Snocross National Presented by Kwik Trip once again kicked off the 2017-2018 season with the running of the AMSOIL Dominator. This unique event puts 16 of the Worlds Greatest Pro and Pro Lite racers together as they battle one-on-one in a 2 lap shootout. The top 8 Pros from year end points in 2017 are automatically entered into the bracket, as the remaining 8 riders have to battle their way in from the seeding sessions that happen early Friday afternoon.  This winner take all format gives the racers a chance to take home $10,000, and a unique trophy, all provided by series title sponsor AMSOIL.

After the sun set on Spirit Mountain in Duluth, the penultimate finals and the running of the AMSOIL Dominator began. Round 1 of the Dominator featured reigning Pro Champion Kody Kamm who battled a never give up Dave Joanis, but fell short to the number 1 seed’s speed and composure. Canadas own, Tim Tremblay, went up against Pro Lite Rider Travis Muller, who gave the big strong Canadian a hard fought battle but came up 2 sled lengths short. Two AMSOIL Dominator rookies went head to head in race 3 for AMSOIL Dominator round 1. Martin Moland faced Nisse Kjellstrom who put on a great show for the fans before Kjellstrom high sided in the Ziegler Cat corner. The following race featured 2 racers who had to qualify on practice times. Reigning Pro Lite Champion Aki Pihlaja earned the hole-shot over Corin Todd before Corin made a sweeping move to pass the Ski-Doo and run his Polaris away to victory. Vermont Native, Lincoln Lemieux, earned his second ever AMSOIL Dominator victory, with a commanding win over Canadian RJ Roy. Race number 7 spotlighted the winningest rider in Snocross history, Tucker Hibbert, and he had his work cut out for him in round 1 with hard charging Arctic Cat teammate Travis Kern. Kern had a great hole-shot, but was not able to capitalize on his quick reaction time, giving the win to the 10 time National Champion. The final race of round 1 was filled with 2 Polaris Riders, Pro Rookie Jake Angove, and Winter X Games Gold Medalist, Petter Narsa. Angove made 2 early mistakes and was not able to rebound against the former Swedish Champion giving Narsa the chance to earn himself $10,000.

In round 2 of the AMSOIL Dominator Kody Kamm’s Hentges Racing Polaris nabbed a great holeshot as he ran away with the win. Pro Lite racer Martin Moland still rode strong but was overshadowed by Kamms run of victories that dates back to Lake Geneva in March. In quarterfinal number 2, Corin Todd was  up against 3 time winner of the event, Tim Tremblay. Corin had a great start and started to pull away at the near end of the first lap. Tremblay had on off on the uphill giving Todd the win with ease. The third of four quarterfinals included rising stars of the sport, by the names of Lincoln Lemieux and Petter Narsa. Lemieux powered his AMSOIL Ski-Doo to the victory as Petter Narsa was done for the evening. In the last quarterfinal, Tucker Hibbert went up against longtime racer Kyle Pallin. Hibberts start from the outside was fast and courageous as he nearly came off the track on the downhill. After regaining control of his Arctic Cat, Hibbert was fast and was too much to handle for “Señor Smiley” Kyle Pallin.

With only 4 racers left the AMSOIL Dominator was shaping up to be one for the ages. The first semi featured the Wisconsin native Kody Kamm, and Lincoln Lemieux who was racing in his first AMSOIL Dominator semifinal. Kamm had yet another great start and was too much to handle for the Scheuring Speed Sports Rider. The remaining semifinal gave the fans something to cheer about. Hibbert and Todd battled bar-to-bar for nearly the entire race before Hibbert took the victory with minimal room to spare.

This unique event is unlike any other on the AMSOIL Championship Snocross National tour. The riders who lost in the semifinals still have a chance to earn themselves the $10,000 payday. The racers will battle for a chance to race in the back row of the main event. Lemieux and Todd both battled hard for the 2 lap sprint. Todd was clearly a threat on the downhill which give him the edge and also a back row spot in the final.

The final race of the AMSOIL Dominator featured the 2016-2017 Pro Champion Kody Kamm, the 10 time National Champion Tucker Hibbert, and a Polaris Privateer looking to earn his first Pro win, Corin Todd. Hibbert and Kamm had an advantage on the start due to Todd having to come through the Last Chance Qualifier. Kamm and Hibbert battled instantly as they banged bars in each of the corners before Kamm nabbed an early lead. Hibbert put a late charge on with one lap to go as he was looking to earn his first AMSOIL Dominator. With half a lap to go and nearly bar-to-bar with Kamm, Hibbert lost control of his snowmobile and sent him and the machine across the track and upside down. Still in striking distance, Corin Todd passed the downed Tucker Hibbert and set his eyes on the #1 Polaris. Kody finished off the last lap by picking his lines preciously which gave him the win and a $10,000 check.

After the race, Kody Kamm was asked what he was going to do with his winnings. Kamm responded, “that he did not know what he was going to do with his new funds but he was just going to try and win again on Saturday and Sunday.”

The Snocross festivities continue at Spirit Mountain on Saturday, with Round 1 of the AMSOIL Snocross National Presented by Kwik Trip and will conclude on Sunday afternoon with Round 2.

2017/2018 ISOC National Snocross Tour Schedule 

Duluth, MN // November 24-27, 2017

Jackson Hole, WY // December 8-9, 2017

Shakopee, MN // January 5-6, 2018

Deadwood, SD // January 19-20, 2018

Salamanca, NY // February 16-17, 2018

Mt. Pleasant, MI // February 23-24, 2018

Dubuque, IA // March 9-10, 2018

Lake Geneva, WI // March 16-17, 2018

About ISOC Racing

The International Series of Champions (ISOC) is the premier snowmobile race 
organization in North America, sanctioning AMSOIL Championship Snocross powered by RAM events in addition to affiliating with nine regional circuits. Visit www.snocross.com for more information, fan and racer memberships, schedule details and listings for 17 exclusive one-hour shows on CBS Sports Network. A live stream link during events is free to fans at www.snocross.com/livestream.