Tucker Hibbert puts up a last-to-1st statement race at Deadwood, S.D. Pro Open final; Andrew Carlson wins Lites

Kimster Recent Posts, Uncategorized

Contact: Pat Schutte
PR Director, ISOC Racing

DEADWOOD, S.D. (Feb. 1, 2014) – If AMSOIL Championship Snocross, powered by Ram, current Pro Open point leader Tucker Hibbert’s (Monster Energy/Arctic Cat) can hold on an win this year’s championship, you’ll have to point to tonight’s race as the statement race of the season for the defending champ – quite possibly even more so than when he lapped the entire field at the season opener in Duluth, Minn.

Coming from dead last to 1st – after yet another run in with Kody Kamm (Hentges Racing/Polaris), which this time completely separated Hibbert from his sled, Hibbert put up a race-for-the-ages with his effort at the final main event of the Deadwood Snocross Shootout, presented by K&N Filters.

And in Pro Lite racing action it was current point leader Andrew Carlson (Carlson Motorsports/Polaris), who got back on top of the box after placing 2nd last night.

Pro Open
Pulling the Stud Boy Holeshot with authority, Hibbert was on the cusp of pulling away when he was drilled from behind by Friday’s winner Kamm, who ran into Hibbert in the exact same spot on Friday (where he knocked Hibbert off the track). But tonight, without hesitation, ISOC officials pulled the black flag and sent Kamm to the back of the pack, where he joined Hibbert.

Capitalizing off the mess up front, 2012 ACS Pro Open champ Tim Tremblay (Scheuring Speed Sports/AMSOIL/Ski-Doo) took the lead, followed by David Joanis (Royal Distributing/Arctic Cat). Tremblay was solid in the early going, increasing his lead up to 3.5 seconds early and looking like he’s secure his first victory of the 2013-’14 AMSOIL Championship Snocross season.

On lap six Justin Broberg (Hentges Racing/Polaris) and Cody Thomsen (Arctic Cat) got into a great battle for 3rd place, with Broberg getting the edge when Thomsen over-cooked a corner and went down. Tremblay (1st), Joanis (2nd) and Broberg (3rd) would share the spotlight for a couple laps, before all eyes in the packed Days of ’76 Rodeo Grounds turned their focus to Hibbert.

By lap ten Hibbert would move up to 5th place, while Kamm dropped out of the race for an unknown reason. Hibbert was on a mission, soon reeling in Broberg for 3rd and setting his site on Joanis, who he passed on lap 14. Down three seconds on Tremblay with six laps to go, Hibbert would pass the former Pro Open champ on lap 16 (of 22) and cruised home to the victory.

“I was motivated, man,” said Hibbert. “I was getting tired of being pushed around. So I just put my head down and went for it. Last night was one of the worst nights of my career and I really wanted that win. It’s been a long weekend and I’m glad it’s over.”

Rounding out the Pro Open top five at Deadwood on Saturday night were Broberg in 4th and Johan Lidman (Warnert Racing/Ski-Doo) in 5th.

Deadwood Saturday Pro Open results

1 Tucker Hibbert
Monster Energy/Arctic Cat
68 Arctic Cat
Pelican Rapids, MN
2 Tim Tremblay
Amsoil/Air Force/Rockstar
11 Ski-Doo
Ste Jeanne D’Arc, Quebec
3 David Joanis
Royal Distributing
115 Arctic Cat
Cochrane (Kok rane),
4 Justin Broberg
Hentges Racing
168 Polaris
Mukwonago, WI
5 Johan Lidman
Warnert Racing
52 Ski-Doo
Pitea, Sweden
6 Kyle Pallin
Team LaVallee
324 Polaris
Ironwood, MI
7 Petter Narsa
Team Jimmy John’s/Ski-doo/BossRacing
271 Ski-Doo
8 Levi LaVallee
Team LaVallee
108 Polaris
Longville, MN
9 Bobby LePage
Cottew Motorsports
244 Polaris
Duluth, MN
10 Zach Pattyn
Stud Boy Racing
99 Ski-Doo
Ravenna, MI
11 Logan Christian
Christian Brothers Racing / Drift
43 Arctic Cat
Fertile, MN
12 Jake Scott
Team LaVallee
42 Polaris
Port Jefferson Station, NY
13 Cody Thomsen
Arctic Cat
62 Arctic Cat
Nisswa, MN
14 Kody Kamm
Hentges Racing
53 Polaris
Kenosha, WI

Pro Lite
Andrew Carlson pulled the Pro Lite class holeshot of the year, rocketing out of the far outside gate with the No. 10 qualifying pick and arching his Polaris across the entire Pro Lite field and into the lead – a lead he’d hold for all 14 laps for the victory.

“That’s probably one of my best races ever,” said Carlson. “It was ‘Go or No go’ on the start – and I just went for it. My sled ripped. Got a great start and that was key.”

Carlson was joined up front early by Corey Watkinson (Watkinson Racing/Arctic Cat) and Jordan Kraus on a Relentless Racing Polaris. Carlson would go up by two seconds ahead of Watkinson, while James Johnstad (Judnick Motorsports/Polaris) made his move past Kraus and into 3rd. Johnstad, who was leading Friday’s Pro Lite contest at Deadwood when he wadded up his sled and was unable to complete the race.

Carlson, Watkinson and Johnstad would set a torrid pace, separating from the rest of the field in a three-man train around the oblong Deadwood oval. Watkinson would click off one of the faster laps, a 27.5 effort, cutting Carlson’s lead down to just over a second with four laps remaining. Lapped traffic would group the trio even closer together, but the places would remain the same through the checkers. 1 – Carlson, 2- Watkinson and 3 – Johnstad.

“I really screwed up yesterday, and didn’t qualify well today,” admitted Johnstad. “Andrew and Corey ran a good race, I couldn’t catch them – but I’m happy to be up here on the box tonight.”

Rounding out the top five in Saturday’s Pro Lite class at Deadwood were John Stenberg (Bauerly Racing/Ski-Doo) in 4th and Friday’s winner, Corin Todd (Leighton Motorsports/Polaris) in 5th.

Deadwood Saturday Pro Lite results

1 Andrew Carlson
151 Polaris
Big Lake, MN
2 Corey Watkinson
Watkinson Motorsports, Arctic Cat
173 Arctic Cat
Port Carling, Ontario
3 James Johnstad
Judnick Motorsports
154 Polaris
Beltrami, MN
4 John Stenberg
Team Bauerly Racing
259 Ski-Doo
Lofsdalen, Sweden
5 Corin Todd
Leighton Motorsports
136 Polaris
Otego, NY
6 Andrew Lieders
Team LaVallee
857 Polaris
Colby, WI
7 Jordan Kraus
Relentless Racing
105 Polaris
Osage, MN
8 Kevin Wallenstein
Ingles Performance
122 Ski-Doo
Cadillac, MI
9 Zak Mason
863 Polaris
Gaylord, MI
10 Travis Muller
Warnert Racing
436 Ski-Doo
Windom, MN
11 Nick Pattyn
Stud Boy Racing
198 Ski-Doo
Ravenna, MI
12 Taylor Meuwissen
1eighty1 Racing
181 Arctic Cat
Denver, CO
13 Dylan Hall
Royal / Hall Racing
421 Ski-Doo
Ayr, Ontario
14 Kyle Rau
Rau Racing
325 Arctic Cat
Lawton, MI
15 Trevor Leighton
Leighton Motorsports
931 Polaris
Eagle, ID

AMSOIL Championship Snocross, powered by Ram, returns to Seneca Allegany Casino & Hotel for two days/nights of high-octane racing action on February 7 and 8 with the running of the Seneca Allegany Casino Air Force Snocross!

2013-’14 AMSOIL Championship Snocross, powered by Ram

Round/Date City/State
1 – Nov. 29-Dec. 1 Duluth, Minnesota
2 – Dec. 6-7 Bessemer, Michigan
3 – Jan. 3-5 Shakopee, Minnesota
4 – Jan. 31-Feb.1 Deadwood, South Dakota
5 – Feb. 7-8 Salamanca, New York
6 – Feb. 21-22 Mt. Pleasant, Mich.
7 – March 7-8 Fargo, N.D.
8 – March 14-16 Lake Geneva, Wisconsin

Beginning with AMSOIL Championship Snocross’ season-opening round in Duluth, Minn. and running through the season finale in Lake Geneva, Wis. CBS Sports Network will air 16 half-hour programs of the ACS races.

Photos courtesy of Lissa Marsolek/ISOC

About ISOC Racing
The International Series of Champions (ISOC) is the premier snowmobile race sanctioning organization in North America and sanctions national AMSOIL Championship Snocross, in addition to affiliating with nine regional circuits. Visit snocross.com for more information, fan and racer memberships, schedule details and more.